Food Sovereignty Resources

Food Sovereignty Summit

Co-hosts of the Food Sovereignty Summit:

Oneida Nation of Wisconsin
First Nations Development Institute
Intertribal Agriculture Council
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College


W.K. Kellogg Foundation
Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community
International Indian Treaty Council
CHS Foundation
North Central Integrated Pest Management Center
Oneida Nation Tourism Department


Food Sovereignty and Collaboration for Sustainability
Lori Watso, Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

Pushing the Envelope: Changing the Landscape with Law and Policy
Leotis McCormack – Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission Commissioner and Nez Perce Tribal Executive Committee Member (ID)
Terri Rambler – Chairman, San Carlos Apache Tribe (AZ)
Mike Wiggins, Chairman, Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
Danny Simpson – Former Navajo Nation Council Delegate
Denisa Livingston – Dine Community Advocacy Alliance, Navajo Nation (AZ) – Navajo Junk Food Tax
Moderator: A-dae Romero – Briones – Director of Community Development, Pulama Lana’I (HI)

Three sisters Philosophy
Kenny Perkins – Akwesasne Cultural Restoration Horticulture and Traditional Foods, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

Indigenous Food Sovereignty: The International Landscape
María Angelina Aspuac Con – Asociación Femenina para el Desarrollo de Sacatepéquez (AFEDES – Women’s Association for the Development of Sacatepéquez), Guatemala
Jessica Villacorta – Asociación para la Naturaleza y el Desarrollo Sostenible Asociación (ANDES), Peru
Jeannette Armstrong, Ph.D. – Canada Research Chair Indigenous Studies, Community, Culture & Global Studies, University of British Columbia, Canada

Applied Agriculture:

Presentations on Farm Management, Techniques and Approaches
Regina Brubaker – Carver – Ziibimijwang Board President, Little Traverse Band (MI)
Raymond Red Corn – Assistant Principal Chief, Osage Tribe (OK)
Tsosie Lewis – CEO, Navajo Agricultural Products Industry (NM)
Jay Thompson – General Manager, Yakama Nation Land Enterprise (WA)
Moderator: Susan Ratcliffe – Director, Integrated Pest Management, University of Illinois

Medicinal Plants, Roots, and Heirloom Seeds
Lavina Colwash – C & H Member, The Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs (OR)
Ellen Robertson and Jessica Tiger – Enemy Swim Day School (SD)
Beatrice Norton – Aging & Adult Services Program Manager, The Hopi Tribe (AZ)
Moderator: Sylvia Cornelius – Environmental Project Manager, Oneida Nation (WI)

Value-Added Goods, Processing Centers
Manuel Heart – Chairman, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe (CO)
Jerry Jondreau – The Intertribal Maple Syrup Producers Cooperative (MN)
Dan Cornelius – Intertribal Agriculture Council (WI)
Moderator: Judy Knudsen – Family Living Educator Brown County, University of Wisconsin Extension (WI)

Environmental Remediation, Buffers, Phosphorous
Patrick Pelky – Environmental Health &Safety Division Director, Oneida Nation (WI)
Cheryl Shippentower – Plant Ecologist, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (OR)
Moderator: Jesse Conway – University of Wisconsin (WI)

Lea Hennessy – Kipuka Lana’i Farms (HI)
Tahnibaa Naataanii – Board Member, Dine be’ Iina (NM)
Mike Faith- Intertribal Buffalo Council (SD)
Moderator: Jim Stone – Executive Director, Intertribal Buffalo Council (SD)

Community Outreach:

Youth in Agriculture
Zion Ghahate – Management Intern, Red Willow Farm (NM)
Joseph Cadotte – Wild Rice Stewardship Youth, Bad River Tribe (WI)
Little Big Horn College, Crow Tribe of Indians
“Tehonwenniserathe” Levi Herne – Akwesasne Freedom School (NY)
Bernice Stevens and Makayla Doxtater- Oneida Nation (WI)
Moderator: Artley Skenandore – Principal, Oneida High School

Chefs Corner
Arlie Doxtator – Stockbridge Country Club (Oneida)
Ben Jacobs – Tocabe (Osage) (CO)

Healthy Food Programs Traditional Food / Nutritional cookbook
Kristy DeLoe – The Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde (OR)
Dianne Amiotte-Seidel – Project Director/Marketing Coordinator, Intertribal Buffalo Council (SD)
Moderator: Melissa Nelson, President, The Cultural Conservancy (CA))

Fresh and Health Foods and Market Access
Ken Parker, CNLP – Project Manager, Seneca Diabetes Foundation (NY)
Cornell Magdalena – Health Advocate, Jemez Public Health Program (NM)

Community Engagement
Chumona Deere and Lizanne Holata – Mvskoke Food Sovereignty Initiative (OK)
Nick Hernandez – Program Manager: Food Sovereignty, Thunder Valley Community Development Corporation (SD)
Moderator: A-dae Romero – Briones – Director of Community Development, Pulama Lana’I (HI)

Products to Market:

Business Plan, Branding and Marketing, Collateral Materials, Ag Tourism
John Hendrix – Director of Economic Development, Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians (MS)
Michelle Danforth – Oneida Nation Agri Tourism (WI)
Moderator: Valerie Dantoin – Faculty, Northeastern Wisconsin Technical College (WI)

Product Standards in the Market Place
Janie Hipp – Director, Indigenous Food and Agriculture Initiative, University of Arkansas (AR)
Les Brown and Buck Jones – Columbia River Intertribal Fish Commission
Vanessa Miller, Oneida Nation
Distribution Channels
Kay Colbert – Chocolatier, Bedre Fine Chocolates (Chickasaw) (OK)
Lakota Foods (SD)
James Slape, Jr. – Nisqually Seafood Market (WA)
Moderator: Michele Doxtator, Oneida Nation

The Best Grapes
Janet Johnson – Project Administrator, Seminole Nation Vineyards (OK)
Tara Gomez – Winemaker, Kitá Wines (The Santa Ynez Band of Chumash, CA)
Jim Etters – Yoche Dehe Wintun Nation (CA)

<--Back to the Global Spark First Peoples
Back to Top